Dublin Criminal Defense Attorney
Call For A Free Case Evaluation! 888.865.0741
Criminal Defense DUI

DUI Penalties in California

Aggressive Defense from a Dublin DUI Attorney

Each DUI case is different and the penalties can vary accordingly. There are general guidelines for these types of convictions, but you need to discuss your unique case with a DUI lawyer to have a better idea of the consequences you are facing.

The legal drinking age in California is 21 years old and the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit for drivers who are 21 is .08%. If you are under the drinking age and caught driving while intoxicated, the BAC limit is .01%. The exact BAC limit can have an effect on the precise penalties that you face. Need an attorney for your DUI case in Dublin? Contact the Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse to team up with a skilled Dublin DUI lawyer for your case.

Chemical Test Refusal Penalties in CA

There is an implied consent law in California that requires drivers to submit to a chemical test if arrested for a DUI. Refusing this test would violate the law and result in consequences. For a first offense refusal to perform a test, you could have your license suspended for one year.

If you refuse again in the future, you could be facing a two year license suspension. This can increase to three years for a third refusal to take the test. On top of license suspension you could also be facing fines. Fight to keep your driving privileges by teaming up with a DUI lawyer in Dublin.

Penalties for DUI in CA

Depending on your age, the type of license you are driving under and your previous criminal history, your DUI penalties can vary significantly. The general breakdown of potential penalties includes:

1st DUI Offense in CA:

  • Between four days and six months in jail
  • 3-5 years on court probation
  • A fine between $1,400 and $2,600
  • Between 30 day and 10 month license suspension
  • Possible Ignition interlock device
  • DUI program
  • SR-22 filing

2nd DUI Offense in CA:

  • Between 10 days and one year in jail
  • 3-5 years on court probation
  • A fine between $1,800 and $2,800
  • A two year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device installation
  • DUI program
  • SR-22 filing

3rd DUI Offense in CA:

  • Between 120 days and one year in jail
  • 3-5 years on court or formal probation
  • A fine between $1,800 and $18,000
  • At least a three year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device installation
  • DUI program
  • SR-22 filing

The penalties are even more severe if there are fourth or subsequent offenses involved. Regardless of the number of previous offenses or details of your case, you need aggressive legal counsel to help you.

Possibility of a Lesser Offense than DUI

When facing DUI charges in California, there is the possibility of pleading to a lesser offense than a DUI. With the help of a skilled DUI attorney you may be able to negotiate a plea bargain of 'wet reckless'. This offense involves reckless driving involving alcohol but holds lesser penalties than a DUI and avoids the presence of a DUI on your record.

This plea bargain is generally possible when the BAC level was not too high or if there was no accident involved. It is important to note that if you are convicted of a wet reckless and then later get arrested for another DUI, the wet reckless can be considered a prior DUI offense.

The Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse Can Help!

Looking for a lawyer for a DUI case in Dublin? Fight against your charges and avoid the penalties at stake by teaming up with a Dublin DUI attorney from our firm.

The Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse offers a free case evaluation so call today and get started building your defense.

Our Blog

Recent Posts
  • Legitimate Expectation of Privacy During a Home Search
    Legitimate Expectation of Privacy During a Home Search
    Posted by Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse

    Privacy is one of the fundamental rights given to us by the United States Constitution. This has been best described as a “legitimate expectation of ...

    Read More
  • California's Police Transparency Law Enacted
    California's Police Transparency Law Enacted
    Posted by Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse

    On September 30, 2018, Governor Jerry Brown signed into law legislation on Police Transparency. The new law, which went into effect on January 1, ...

    Read More
  • 5150 California Welfare & Institutions Code (W&I)
    5150 California Welfare & Institutions Code (W&I)
    Posted by Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse

    5150 Welfare & Institutions Code (W&I) authorizes law enforcement or medical providers to involuntarily confine a person suspected of having a mental ...

    Read More