Most every driver knows to always have an active driver’s license
before heading out on the road in California. However, many people do
not know that you need to keep your valid driver’s license
in your possession when you are driving. Keeping your license at home, in a second handbag
or wallet, or anywhere else not immediately accessible while driving can
get you in serious legal trouble.
When You Need to Produce a Valid CDL
There are several sections of the California Vehicle Code that apply to
carrying a valid driver’s license while driving, including but not
limited to the following situations:
When a person has a valid California Driver’s License (CDL), they
must apply to change their address within 10 days of an official change
of residence address. As a former police officer,
Attorney Ivan Morse has stopped many people who had not complied with a change of address
requirement. Normally, he would advise them they had to change their address
to be in compliance with the law and let them off with a warning. Not
all police officers will be as forgiving, though.
- If you have complied with the change of address, the California DMV will
provide you with a document you can keep with your current CDL advising
the police that you have complied with a change of address. (See §14600
CA Vehicle Code.)
What Happens If You Have No Valid CDL On You?
If you are stopped in California by a police officer while driving a vehicle,
you are required to produce a valid CDL or a license from another jurisdiction.
If you cannot produce a license, the officer may issue you a citation
for violation §12951 of the California Vehicle Code.
On the other hand, if you cannot produce a valid license when stopped,
you may be arrested based on the officer’s discretion and other
outlying factors. California law considers driving without a valid CDL a
criminal offense, not a traffic violation. As a misdemeanor crime under §12500, you
can be arrested, charged, prosecuted, and penalized with up to six months
in jail and $1,000 in fines. If a prosecutor decides to charge the crime
as an infraction, the penalty will be reduced to a $250 fine.
Retain Professional Defense for Your Case – Call 925.452.4065
If you are given a citation or placed under arrested for driving without
a valid California Driver’s License, please do not hesitate to
contact the Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse for a
free consultation. Attorney Morse and his team have helped many drivers facing this precarious
legal situation with success. Insight from a former police officer is
truly invaluable when you are trying to protect your future freedoms.
Call toll-free at
888.865.0741 today to begin your defense.