When discussing marijuana possession in California, the key aspects of a case involve the amount in possession and the location. In order to be arrested for possession of marijuana, you generally need to be in possession of more than 28.5 grams. At the same time, if you are on school grounds and found in possession of marijuana, you can be arrested regardless of the amount. Being found in possession of marijuana in an amount above 28.5 grams you could be facing serious consequences. The potential penalties for a marijuana possession offense include:
28.5 grams or less:
- An infraction with a fine of up to $100
28.5 grams or less but on school grounds and above age 18:
- A misdemeanor offense with up to 10 days in jail and a fine of up to $500
More than 28.5 grams:
- A misdemeanor offense with up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500
Marijuana Possession with Intent to Distribute:
- A felony offense with between 16 months and three years in jail
To learn more about the specific offenses and penalties regarding marijuana in California, take a look at California Health & Safety Code 11357. Also, be aware that even if you are not sentenced to jail, the offense can still be put on your criminal record. There are societal and employment consequences that can arise even with a minor marijuana possession offense on your record. When the offenses involve sale, delivery or cultivation of marijuana you could be facing even harsher penalties. Fight against your marijuana possession charges by teaming up with a Dublin drug crime lawyer from the Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse. As a former Oakland police officer, Attorney Morse is familiar with drug crimes and how they can be prosecuted. With inside knowledge on your side, your defense can be stronger.
Contact our firm today for the hard-hitting representation that you need!