In the state of California, an individual under the age of 21 years old
who is found in possession of an open container can also be charged with
minor in possession. Under the California Business and Professions Code
section 25658, it is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years old
to possess an alcoholic beverage in a public place such as a street, highway, car, etc.
Unlike the open container charges, a minor in possession of alcohol can
be charged with a misdemeanor--which results in a number of serious consequences.
The penalties for a minor in possession of alcohol charge in California
can include hefty fines, imprisonment in county jail, or both. Most importantly,
this rather severe conviction results in a one-year license suspension,
imposed by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
The consequences of a minor in possession conviction are incredibly disruptive
to your life in a number of ways. Not only will this conviction follow
your record for all future employers to see, losing your license will
likely have a serious impact on both your personal and professional life.
This is why it is necessary you prevent being convicted in the first place,
and our Dublin criminal defense lawyers of the Law Office of Ivan O.B.
Morse will do everything in our power to prevent this from happening.
Contact Our Dublin Criminal Defense Lawyers Today
At the Law Office of Ivan O.B. Morse, we understand just how debilitating
it can be to your entire life to be charged with a crime, which is why
our Dublin criminal defense lawyers explore every possible avenue in building
our defense on your behalf. Our legal team is relentless in our pursuit
of justice, and we apply our experience, education, and energy to ensuring
you are taken care of from beginning to end.
Contact us at your earliest convenience to speak to a representative of
our firm. Call (888) 865-0741 today.